YOUR VISIT

DIRECT ACCESS

  .................................................................................................................................................................................................................

DIRECT ACCESS

What is direct access?

Since 2006, a patient who needs to see a physical therapist in New York State can go directly to their physical therapist without a prescription, for 10 visits or 30 days, whichever occurs first. According to New York State law, the evaluating physical therapist must have a New York State physical therapy license and a minimum of 3 years of clinical experience.

Will my insurance cover my physical therapy sessions under direct access?

Most insurances will reimburse for direct access to physical therapy services without a physician prescription, although some do still require one. Before your first visit, you will need to verify your insurance details to confirm that you are covered under direct access.

Please note that treatment under New York’s direct access law is not applicable to Worker’s Compensation, Medicare and No-Fault coverage.